The Ivaldin Calendar

The Ivaldin year consists of eight months of 45 days, each divided into nine morens of 1, 2, 3,… 9 days:

One Month

Moren 1 Day 1
Moren 2 Day 1 Moren 2 Day 2
Moren 3 Day 1 3-2 Moren 3 Day 3
Moren 4 Day 1 4-2 4-3 Moren 4 Day 4
Moren 5 Day 1 5-2 5-3 5-4 Moren 5 Day 5
Moren 6 Day 1 6-2 6-3 6-4 6-5 Moren 6 Day 6
Moren 7 Day 1 7-2 7-3 7-4 7-5 7-6 Moren 7 Day 7
Moren 8 Day 1 8-2 8-3 8-4 8-5 8-6 8-7 Moren 8 Day 8
Moren 9 Day 1 9-2 9-3 9-4 9-5 9-6 9-7 9-8 Moren 9 Day 9
High Holiday
Low Holiday

Two days of every moren are business and school holidays, but most shops remain open for the “low holiday.” Certain other days are sacred to particular gods, when rituals are performed in their honor.

There are four seasons: Bursat (the monsoon), Chhota Garm (warm), Tand (cold) and Bara Garm (hot). Each is two months long (thus, the months are called First Bursat, Second Bursat, First Chhota Garm, etc.). The calendar is adjusted to fit the seasons, with the New Year and the month of First Bursat beginning with the first rainfall. At the end of Second Bursat, when there has been no rain for five days, the rains are considered to be over, and First Chhota Garm begins. After two months, First Tand begins, coincident with the winds’ shift from the eastern sea to the cold northwestern mountains. Bara Garm begins when the wind shifts again, to blow from the warm south.

At the change of months there are five holidays in a row (9-9 to 3-1), to make up for the previous long morens of work. No one remembers how this peculiar calendar came about, but the Ivaldin insist that they like the varied rhythm it gives to their lives.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.